We are thumb suckers…

Yes we are. We come from family of finger or thumb suckers, but the girls in this family seem to prefer our thumbs. My sister was. I was. And now Anna Banana is.  And if I do remember correctly…we all suck our left thumb. I wonder if my Mom did….I’ll have to ask her. Anyway, I personally would prefer a thumb over a paci or a nuk, but that’s just me. It’s one less thing you have to worry about when going out. It doesn’t fall on the floor and get nasty, and you can’t lose it. It is always there! That is the problem though as well. It’s going to be hard to break the habit when the time comes. I know that I sucked my thumb until I was in 5th grade! yes…..I know. It was bad. I remember getting hit in the hand with a ruler at Catholic School, because I was sucking my thumb in class.  They had to put a “rake” in my mouth. It sounds like a medieval torture device…..and it kind of was. It is like a permanent retainer of sorts that does not allow you to suck your thumb. It would poke the top of your mouth with little jagged edges if you tried to suck your thumb….my parents were mean!!! I don’t blame them….they tried everything–the nail polish stuff that tastes nasty (I either just acted like I fell asleep and went to wash it off…or sucked my thumb in spite of it), pepper and socks (did they really think I would keep that on?), and just plain old discipline (yeh, I’m a redhead…enough said). Obviously it didn’t work.  So they resorted to the rake, which I don’t even know if that is its technical term. I am kind of glad though….because I did not have to have braces, and my teeth, I think anyway, are nice and straight.

See now, my sister was even worse…Sorry Katie I’m going to tell on you.  She sucked her thumb into high school and no one even knew it! I’m not sure what exactly broke her of the habit, but she was sneakier than me with it….so she got away with it a lot longer than me.  We both had/have either a blanket or a puff a lump…and I’m not telling which has what. I am pleading the fifth. So this is what we have to look forward to with the Banana…She looks cute though when she sucks her thumb.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Family, Me, Myself, and I and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We are thumb suckers…

  1. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a
    colleague who has been conducting a little research on
    this. And he actually bought me breakfast due to the fact that I stumbled upon
    it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss
    this matter here on your internet site.

Leave a Reply

