Ranting will ensue…

I must say…I am sick of having to be politically correct all the time. I have people that I feel like I am always walking on egg shells around and I can’t ever say anything without being viewed as being mean or rude. Some people are just way too serious for me. For example, an article that I just saw today in the news about the Apache Tribe writing a letter to the President about the code name they used for Osama Bin Laden.  They used the code name Geronimo, which to my understanding is a prominent part of the Native American History.  They are asking for a formal apology for using the name Geronimo to describe Osama. Now, my first thought on this is…I don’t think President Obama is the one who even sets these names in the first place. Second, it is just a name. Being PC (politically correct) is so over rated and puts so much unnecessary stress on any situation. Now…don’t get it twisted. I am not saying that you shouldn’t be polite and respect other people and their lifestyles or anything of the sort, but I do think there is a line that has to be drawn here people. We are going to limit and censor ourselves as well as our children so much that they will not have choices to make for their own. That is an extreme, but I’m serious.

Another example of being PC and, in my opinion, being ridiculous, is the changing of mascots in schools. Really? Is that necessary? They can’t be Indians, or Quakers, or whatever else it is, because it offends someone. Silly. These schools have had these mascots for years….My thought is…You cannot make everyone happy. We are a diverse group of people that live in the U.S. and instead of limiting us to saying the right thing and only saying it this way, because someone will be offended…We should be honoring and celebrating the fact that we have the right of speech and our own opinions. Now, this is definitely not a black and white discussion. There is a lot of grey area in the topic, and I understand that. There are always extremes on either end…Just so we are clear…I am not saying I am right and whoever else is wrong, but this is my blog and I have it so that I can express my feelings and write it out, because sometimes….you just can’t tell people what you feel without a lot of drama and emotion attached to it. I try to be a good person…and I love to talk about things and hash out opinions while learning something new everyday from someone else and their views. I only hope we as a society are not going to continue to point fingers and make issues out of the littlest things while limiting ourselves and our children from experiencing and learning what is right and wrong for their individual selves with the right guidance…not just limitations. I kind of got off the subject, but there is my rant for the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

